jump to navigation

Sitemap Updating Frequency September 30, 2009

Posted by datasheetreference in SEO Notes, Uncategorized.
trackback

I’ve been looking into the potential of recreating datasheetreference.com on either Joomla or WordPress.   I’ve installed both now.   I like Joomla, it’s got quite a learning curve but looks powerful and flexible.   WordPress is not so powerful but easy.  But here is what I want to talk about today.

WordPress updates can be reflected in Google in less than 1 minute!   I’ve experienced this and that’s why I use this blog to promote pages in Google.   In WordPress there is a nice little plug-in called the Google XML Sitemap Generator.   This little bit of PHP code automatically updates your XML sitemap whenever you make a change, then it reaches out to Google and tells it the sitemap was updated.  I’ve been working under the assumption that poking Google with sitemap resubmits is a bad thing.   Maybe the reverse is true.

This makes a lot of sense.  Google is looking for lively sites.  Not with little changes but with new content additions (like blogs).   With this in mind, I’m making content additions into pages of DatasheetReference.com that I want to promote the most (based on analytic of keyword activity) and updating my ‘last changed’ data in the sitemap.  Then I resubmit into Google (if you haven’t done this, it’s literally just a button you press on Google Webmaster)

Let’s see what happens.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

